fbpx

Police Officer Requirements – Texas

Minimum Requirements to be a Police Officer in Texas

Age 21 years of age, or 18 years of age if the applicant has received an associate’s degree or 60 semester hours of credit from an accredited college or university or has received an honorable discharge from the armed forces of the United States after at least two years of active service

  • Education High School Diploma or G.E.D
  • Citizenship US Citizen
  • Other Requirements
  • Never been convicted of any family violence offense;
  • Not prohibited by state or federal law from operating a motor vehicle;
  • Not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing firearms or ammunition
  • Meet Medical and Psychological Requirements
  • Undergo Criminal Background Investigation
  • Honorable discharge from military if applicable
  • Successful completion of the basic licensing course
  • Passing of the state licensing examination
  • Appointment by a law enforcement agency.