Law Enforcement Agencies

Types of Law Enforcement Agencies

There are basically three types of law enforcement agencies, local, state, and federal. Local law enforcement agencies include police and sheriff departments. State agencies include the state or highway patrol. Federal agencies include the FBI and the U.S. Secret Service. There are agencies whose mission is to provide a law enforcement function and there are also agencies who have a law enforcement department or component within a larger agency.

  Start Practicing Today for the Police Written Exam

Local Law Enforcement Agencies

There are numerous types of local law enforcement agencies which include the following:

  • City Police Department
  • County Sheriffs Office
  • Transit Authority Police
  • School District Police
  • Housing Authority Police
  • District Attorneys’ Office Investigators
  • Airport Police
  • Harbor Police
  • University Police
  • Hospital Police

To find a listing of local law enforcement agencies in your state click on the following:

State Law Enforcement Agencies

state law enforcement agencies
There are numerous state law enforcement agencies, and state agencies which have a law enforcement component. To find a listing of state law enforcement agencies, click on the following:

Federal Law Enforcement Agencies

For a listing of federal law enforcement agencies click on the following: