fbpx

Police Officer – Entry Level

Eugene, OR
Eugene Police Department

This position performs a variety of law enforcement duties; first responder to incidents; serves as direct link between the department and the public; responds to, and investigates, incident scenes; assesses appropriate actions to incidents; patrols assigned areas; enforces laws and ordinances; makes arrests; preserves crime scene evidence; summarizes events in report format; and performs preventative community policing for diverse neighborhoods.

Salary
$63,273.60 – $80,683.20 Annually

Qualifications:

MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS
Three years post-secondary education and/or experience required, which must include a minimum of one year of police, social services, or public contact experience. This experience may be combined with related college course work (such as criminal justice, social science, business, etc) to add up to the three-year minimum required.

High school diploma or GED.

At least 21 years of age by date of hire. (January 2020)

NO felony convictions. NO Class A Misdemeanor convictions within 24 months of application.

Must be able to work various shifts; nights, weekends, and holidays. Officers assigned to a patrol team are currently working a 4/10 work schedule.

Emergency response time for a Police Officer requires reporting to work and being ready for duty within 45 minutes of notification.

Fluency in a language in addition to English is desirable. Preference for Spanish or Sign Language ability may be given.

Must meet State requirements including vision, hearing, and standards for basic certification as a law enforcement officer by the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST). To view the standards set by DPSST for certification click here and view Oregon Administrative Rule 259-008-0010.

A valid Oregon driver's license, or ability to obtain by date of hire; must pass driving records check and, if hired, maintain a driving record that meets the City's standard. Oregon law requires that an out-of-state license holder must obtain a valid Oregon license (with appropriate endorsements) within 30 days of becoming domiciled in the state (ORS 803.355).

Successful applicants will be required to sign a statement agreeing to refrain from using tobacco products while on duty.