Communications Officer – Sheriff

Denton, TX
Denton County Sheriff

Salary: $50,388.00 – $58,450.00 Annually.

Position Summary:
The Communications Officer performs specialized radio and communications work. This position receives incoming non-emergency and emergency calls, prioritizes calls received, and relays information via available communications systems to appropriate field personnel.

Essential Functions:

  • Operates emergency and non-emergency communication systems; receives requests for service by telephone; obtains and relays necessary information efficiently and accurately; gives callers direction and instruction as necessary.
  • Operates numerous highly technical computer systems including the Computer Aided Dispatch (CAD); enters and retrieves information to and from various databases including TCIC/NCIC, Denton County computer systems, and a variety of local, regional, and state emergency response databases.
  • Monitors state and national messages, requests, and transactions through TLETS/NLETS while ensuring compliance with Federal and State laws and department policies and procedures
  • Processes, forwards, and maintains records of information obtained or entered; maintains appropriate logs of services requested.
  • Operates radio console consisting of numerous talk groups.
  • Dispatches, monitors, and tracks multiple law enforcement, fire, and EMS agencies.
  • Ensures radio operations are conducted in accordance with Federal Communications Commission (FCC) procedures and requirements.
  • Regular and punctual attendance is required.
  • Performs other related duties as required.


  • High School Diploma or GED required.
  • Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) license within one year of their appointment (Tex. Occ. Code § 1701.301; 37 Tex. Admin. Code § 217.27 )required.
  • TCOLE approved Basic Telecommunicator course, Crisis Communications course, TDD/TTY for Telecommunicators and a TCOLE approved Field Training Course are required within one year of assignment (Tex. Occ. Code § 1701.405; Tex. Occ. Code § 1701.352).
  • Must be 18 years of age.
  • Must be a U.S. citizen.
  • Possession of a valid driver’s license. Must be able to obtain a State of Texas driver’s license within 90 days.