Police Officer Requirements - New Jersey

New Jersey

New Jersey Police Training Commission


New Jersey Civil Service Commission





Graduation from high school or vocational high school  or possession of an approved high school equivalent certificate.



 Not less than 18 nor more than 35 years of age at the  announced closing date for filing applications for the position. In  determining maximum age eligibility of veterans, the time spent in  active military service during periods specified in Department of  Personnel law and rules will be deducted from the attained age.


NOTE: Appointees will be required to successfully  complete a training program mandated by the New Jersey Police Training  Commission within 18 months of appointment.



 Appointees will be required to possess a driver's license  valid in New Jersey only if the operation of a vehicle, rather than  employee mobility, is necessary to perform the essential duties of the position.


Get "7 Secret Tips to get a Law Enforcement Job - FAST" >>



 Must be a citizen of the United States.



As a prerequisite for appointment, appointees may be  required to pass a thorough medical and psychiatric examination to be  administered by the appointing authority. Any psychological, medical  or physical condition or defect which would prevent efficient  performance of the duties of the position, cause the appointee to be a hazard to himself/herself or others, or become aggravated as a result of performance of these duties, will be cause for rejection.




View all Police Jobs - Click Here >>